A weekend that will live in infamy…

Stockton Animal Services under the direction of Pat Claerbout, a member of the Board of Directors of the California Animal Control Directors Association, kills animals on intake, before the end of their stray hold period, and as “sick” without any veterinary diagnosis–all illegal activities. I include Claerbout’s leadership role in a professional association because she’s supposed to know and follow the law and set an example of “best practice” in sheltering.

A Stockton rescuer, Marilyn Williams of Pups Rescue, posted this as a comment on the Central California Pets Alive Facebook page in answer to someone saying that there is no illegal killing at Stockton Animal Services. Her comment is so heartfelt and compelling I want to post it here:

[PAT CLAERBOUT’S] FIRST DAY WAS AUG.1ST, I MUST SAY, A DAY I WILL NEVER FORGET! AUGUST 12,13,14 IS THE FAMOUS WEEKEND THAT SHE HAD HER RIGHT HAND MAN JENIFER MCCOLLUM KILL MOST OF THE 230 ANIMALS! HER CLEAN SWEEP IN 3 DAYS TIME….230 ANIMALS! 107 ON 8/11, 65 ON 8/13 58,ON 8/14. THE STAFF THAT WASN’T THERE THAT WEEKEND, RETURNED ON MONDAY TO FIND THE “DEAD BARRELS” OVER FLOWING AND IN TEARS FROM THE MASS KILLINGS. THIS IS WHAT YOU ARE CONDONING!

This is not a photo of Stockton Animal Services. I’ve never been in the “ET room” or disposal area. This is to illustrate what “dead barrels” are and what they might look like after hundreds of animals have been killed in a single weekend.
Photo credit: http://madmikesamerica.com/2011/01/utah-republican-oda-kill-all-cats-and-dogs-using-all-means-necessary/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A weekend that will live in infamy…

  1. Samantha Stolz says:

    This is very much what it looks like there. I went there one morning to pick an animal up for rescue. They brought me to the back to show me something. The very person Jenifer Mccullom wanted to show me that euthenization “was not so bad”. They already had a pile of dead animals. One worker went to the back and grabbed another dog. The poor dog had to be dragged on the leash. He was obviously terrified. I will never forget his eyes. He knew. I could see it clear as day. They wrapped his muzzle with the leash and injected him. My heart broke that day. I still cry still have nightmares. There was nothing okay about what was done that day. NOTHING.

  2. Steph Inglis says:

    This is disgusting. The shelter manager has a sin to answer to. As for the local authorities, they should never have allowed this to happen. These poor innocent animals, murdered for their crime of having a bad owner, while the tax payer contributes to feeding and watering molesters, abusers and murderers. This is an absolute discrace, as are those invloved!

  3. Michele Neider says:

    There is a problem at that shelter, not just with the euthanizing that is done, but with the adoptions. I went to adopt an Irish Wolfhound puppy I was told was there. We went there Friday and Saturday, to get him. I offered to pay for him both days, supposedly the first day I couldn’t because the owners time to reclaim wasn’t up, the next day it was because a rescue had picked him up already. On Friday I was NOT told I could put my name in to adopt him, Saturday she says well, I don’t see your name on here for him. I was just told to come back the next day..Friday they did not take him out of the cage for us to see him, I think they already knew where he was going. He is now at the Big Dog Rescue looking for a home at 4 times the price of adoption than at the shelter. I wanted to give him a forever home. The scuttle butt is that the director is under investigation, One month they put down over 900 animals..I wonder if she is getting a kickback from the rescues… Something isn’t right there…

Leave a Reply

